Webster challenges Biden administration’s cataloging of employees’ religious beliefs

Congressman Daniel Webster and US Senator Rick Scott joined 40 other colleagues demanding to know about the planned creation of a database that would track the religious beliefs of federal employees.

The database would be known as the “Employee Religious Exception Request Information System.”

The lawmakers’ letter asks the Comptroller General of the Government Accountability Office to determine whether the notice given by the District of Columbia’s Pretrial Services Agency constitutes a rule for purposes of the Congressional Review Act, which Congress can invoke to undo the action. ‘an agency.

This registration system is a central database, maintained by the Office of Management and Budget, that tracks the name, religious affiliation, religious beliefs, and other personally identifying information of federal employees who have asked for religious exemptions to the Biden administration’s COVID-19 vaccination mandate. on federal employees. More than 20 federal agencies, including the Department of Justice, Department of Homeland Security and Department of Transportation, have issued similar notices to maintain databases tracking employees’ religious beliefs, and those lists will be shared across departments. federal agencies.

“Federal law protects employees who request exemptions or accommodations authorized by law from targeting or discrimination, but it could happen on those records,” said Webster, a Republican who represents The Villages in the House of Representatives. the United States. “I am committed to defending the First Amendment and ensuring that those who seek to exercise their constitutionally protected freedoms are not subject to intimidation or fear of discrimination.”

You can read the full text of the letter HERE

The letter was signed by Representatives Bill Posey (R-FL), Scott Perry (R-PA), Jeff Duncan (R-SC), Randy Weber (R-TX), Doug Lamborn (R-CO), Ronny L Jackson (R-TX), Bob Good (R-VA), Andy Biggs (R-AZ), Doug LaMalfa (R-CA), Brian Mast (R-FL), Glenn Grothman (R-WI), Jody Hice (R-GA), Gus Bilirakis (R-FL), Louie Gohmert (R-TX), Eric A. “Rick” Crawford (R-AR), Mary E. Miller (R-IL), Lauren Boebert (R- CO), Tom Tiffany (R-WI), Warren Davidson (R-OH), Robert B. Aderholt (R-AL), Ralph Norman (R-SC), Dr. John Joyce (R-PA), Brian Babin, DDS (R-TX), Mo Brooks (R-AL), Ben Cline (R-VA), Jim Jordan (R-OH), Jason Smith (R-MO), Michael Waltz (R-FL), Kat Cammack (R – FL), Lisa McClain (R-MI), Dan Bishop (R-NC), Vicky Hartzler (R-MO), Tom McClintock (R-CA) and Byron Donalds (R-FL) as well as Senators Thom Tillis ( R-NC), Mike Braun (R-IN), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Marco Rubio (R-FL) and James Lankford (R-OK).

Ruth R. Culp